Four Broadcasters to Receive WBA Local Broadcast Legends Awards

Local Broadcast Legends Logo

Four Wisconsin Broadcasters have been chosen as WBA Local Broadcast Legends and will be recognized during the Keynote Luncheon on Thursday, June 23 as part of the WBA’s Summer Conference.

Local Broadcast Legends Award

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Local Broadcast Legends Award was established in 2015 under the direction of Bruce Grassman, owner/president of Results Radio. The first award was given posthumously to Norm Habeck, a former Results Radio employee. The Local Broadcast Legends Award is a great honor and recognition for individuals that work behind the scenes and within their communities fulfilling the commitment broadcasters have made to serve their local communities. They are individuals that exemplify localism. This award is a means to extend recognition of these individuals beyond their local communities.

Individuals with 15 years or more service in Wisconsin broadcasting may be nominated by their company, co-workers, community leaders, family members, and friends. The station or organization which the nominee is associated with submits the nomination on behalf of the nominating individual(s).

The WBA is grateful to Bruce Grassman for his vision to establish a means for dedicated local broadcast employees to be recognized for their contributions to Wisconsin broadcasting. This award is for those who unconditionally support their stations and community. Our 2016 Recipients are as follows (along with the one sentence that best describes them, as provided by their nominees):

  • William Allen – “In Marshfield and beyond, the spirit of Bill’s community service lives on.”
  • Norb Aschom – “The Voice of Prairie du Chien”
  • Dick Kaner – “Dick Kaner…more than a radio announcer. Dick Kaner IS radio in Wisconsin’s Great Northwest!”
  • Bob Salm – “Doing good local community radio is in Bob’s blood – it’s part of his DNA.”